Every single day there are over 5.6 billion searches done on Google. If you are a business owner, you are probably thinking, “then how do I get my business on Google?” After all, don’t you want a piece of that huge pie? Let’s go over the different ways you can get on Google.
Google Organic search results
Organic search is usually what comes to mind when you think of getting on Google. Whenever you make a webpage, Google sends a bot to go to your page and analyze it. This is called “indexing.” If your page doesn’t get indexed Google, then your website can’t show up in Google search. The good news is unless you do something wrong, Google will index all public pages of your website.
Whenever someone searches for a term, or “keyword,” Google goes through its library of websites to see what you may be looking for. Google uses that keyword with its secret algorithm to determine if your webpage is related to the keyword. The pages that Google thinks are most relevant to the keyword are shown up first on a results page.
This is where organic search results are.
If your webpage has been search engine optimized correctly, then your website will appear at the top of the search results.
And this, of course, means a ton of free traffic for your business.
That’s how you get in organic search results on Google. The important thing to remember is that good SEO equals tons of free traffic.
Google Ads Pay-per-click
Showing up in organic search results on Google can take some time, so if you have a bigger budget and need results as soon as possible, you can use Google Ads.
Google Ads is a type of pay-per-click advertising. That means you write an ad on Google and every time someone clicks on your ad you get charged.
You can think of Google Ads as paying someone money to go to your website. If you can pay someone $1 to come to your website and they spend $20, would you take that deal? And that doesn’t even account for a customer’s lifetime value (LTV).
You might pay $1 to get someone to come to your website the first time, but they might keep coming back to your website to make future purchases.
This is where Google Ads are placed, right above organic search results.
Pay-per-click is a fantastic way to get to the top of Google search results as long as the economics of it works out for your business.
Google my business
Google My Business is a great option for local businesses. It can display a lot of information about your business including operating hours, your business’s address, and customer reviews.
A Google My Business profile even allows mobile users to instantly call you or get directions to your store.
Having a Google My Business profile is a great way to show that your business is real and trustworthy.
Here is where Google My Business results show up on a Google search page.
What kind of Google marketing is right for your business?
Now that we’ve covered the different ways to get your business on Google, you might be thinking about what kind of Google marketing is right for your business. The truth is, it really depends on your business model.
Organic search from Google
Organic search traffic from Google is great if you have the time and is great for a long term strategy. It’s also suitable when your website doesn’t necessarily sell something, like a news site.
Paid search from Google
Google Ads are great if you have the budget and someone that can actively manage your campaign. If the math works out with pay-per-click, you can scale the campaign.
Here’s an example of the economics of pay-per-click.
Cost per click (CPC) = $1
Percentage of visitors that become customers = 10%
Real cost per customer (CPA) = $10
Lifetime value of a customer (LTV) = $100
In this example, when someone clicks on your ad, you are charged $1. One in every ten visitors becomes a customer, but the LTV of a customer is $100.
Would you pay $10 to get $100 back?
The longer your campaign runs, the more data about conversions you gather. You can then use this information to reduce the cost-per-click (CPC) and continue scaling.
Traffic from Google My Business
Google My Business is suitable for local businesses. While it is possible to show up in Google My Business results if you have a purely online business, such as an eCommerce store, Google really prefers to showcase local businesses when it comes to Google My Business. If you are a local business that services customers in your area it is imperative that you have a Google My Business page.
If you are not getting traffic from Google, you are really leaving money on the table. In fact, your competitors are probably doing some kind of marketing on Google.
If you want to get traffic and leads from Google, contact us and let’s see how we can jumpstart your online marketing.